Arizona Licensure for Occupational Therapy Practitioners
To practice occupational therapy in Arizona, licensure is mandatory. For additional information, please contact:
Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners
1740 W. Adams St., Suite 3407, Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: 602-589-8352 | Fax : 602-589-8354
Visit ABOTE at www.otboard.az.gov or email Licensing Administrator Vicki Egurrola at firstname.lastname@example.org.
According to ABOTE, a licensee shall complete continuing education for renewal of a license as follows:
- Occupational Therapist, 20 clock-hours for renewal of a 2-year license; and
- Occupational Therapy Assistant, 12 clock-hours for renewal of a 2-year license.
This is required in order to maintain your OT practitioner license in the state of Arizona (i.e. The “L” in your credentials). What constitutes approved continuing education can be found on in the link below or by visiting the ABOTE website.
If you would like to learn about state laws regarding occupational therapy, we recommend becoming familiar with the following ABOTE documents:
According to the National Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners (NBCOT), certificants must accrue at least 36 units of continuing education during their three-year renewal cycle. This is required in order to maintain your registered status with NBCOT (i.e. The “R” in your credentials). What constitutes approved units can be found in NBCOT’s certification renewal handbook.
For more information on maintaining your registered status, please visit the NBCOT website.